South African Mint collectible coins

4.2.Detailed look at the individual coins that represent the “Big Five” animals

What does the term “Big Five” mean in general?

“The Big Five” are five specific animals of Africa: elephant, lion, leopard, rhino and buffalo. These animals are known for being particularly difficult hunting targets, which made them particularly desirable to big game hunters. The “Big Five” are traditionally known in South Africa and their motifs have adorned South African banknotes since 1988. The ” SA Mint ” (South African Mint) is the leading manufacturer of currency and collector’s coins on the African continent.

The Big Five Animals of South Africa – Your Safari Itinerary

South Africa is rich in diverse flora and fauna, including some of the world’s most magnificent animals: the Big Five. These animals are a must on every safari itinerary.

The “Big Five” are a group of five wild animals native to Africa and are often the focus of safaris and wildlife viewing. The Big Five include the lion, African elephant, rhinoceros, buffalo and leopard. Each of these animals has its own fascinating nature and way of life.

Lion: The King of the Jungle

First of all, let’s focus on the lion, also known as the “King of the Jungle”. The lion is the only social big cat species and lives in groups called prides. Lions are powerful predators and their manes give them a majestic appearance. As part of the Big Five, they are a popular destination for tourists and photographers.

African Elephant: The largest land animal in the world

The African elephant, the world’s largest land animal, is another impressive member of the Big Five. These gentle giants can weigh up to 7 tons and are known for their intelligence, social structures and long tusks. Elephants live in herds led by a matriarch and roam the African savannah in search of food and water.

Rhinoceros: The Endangered Giant

The rhinoceros, found in two species in Africa – the white rhinoceros and the black rhinoceros – is another fascinating member of the Big Five. Rhinos are known for their horn, which is unfortunately also the reason why they are at risk from poachers. They are solitary animals and have thick skin that protects them from injury. The protection of these animals is particularly important to secure their future.

Buffalo: The unpredictable power

The buffalo, a powerful and unpredictable animal, is next on our list. Buffalo live in large herds and are known to protect each other from predators. They have large horns and are very strong animals. Observing a herd of buffalo in the wild is an impressive experience.

Leopard: The elegant big cat

Finally, let’s take a look at the leopard, an elegant and graceful big cat known for its ability to climb trees. Leopards are solitary animals and hunt primarily at night. They have beautiful fur with distinctive spots called rosettes. The leopard’s beauty and grace have made it a popular subject for photographers and nature lovers.

Summary Each of these animals contributes in its own way to the fascination and beauty of the African wilderness. It is therefore of utmost importance that we protect their habitats and protect them from threats such as poaching. This is the only way we can ensure that future generations will have the opportunity to experience and appreciate these amazing creatures in their natural environment.

Each of these animals contributes in its own way to the fascination and beauty of the African wilderness. It is important that we protect their habitats and protect them from threats such as poaching to ensure future generations have the opportunity to experience these amazing creatures in their natural environment.

If you are planning a safari in South Africa, you should know that wildlife sightings are never guaranteed. Still, increase your chances of seeing these magnificent animals in their natural habitat by visiting one of the country’s many game reserves and safari lodges.

Big Five Series I and II gold coins

The South African Mint’s Big Five series is a fascinating collection that celebrates South Africa’s rich animal heritage. The series consists of two parts, Big Five Series 1 and Big Five Series 2, which focus on the majestic “Big Five” animals of Africa: the elephant, the lion, the rhino, the leopard and the buffalo. These animals are impressive not only because of their size and power, but also because of their importance in African culture and their symbolic status as the ultimate “big game” animals.

The Big Five Series 1 was released between 2019 and 2021 and features each of these impressive creatures on individual coins. The series pays homage to the beauty and richness of South African wildlife and is a valuable addition to any coin collection.

The Big Five Series 2, released in 2021 to 2023, continues the legacy of the first series and once again puts the majestic Big Five animals on coins. The second series features some changes in design, with the front design being slightly modified, while the back design remains the same as the previous series with the two halves of the animal face. Another innovation in the Big Five Collection Series II is the introduction of new coin formats or sizes, which should delight coin collectors around the world.

Both series highlight the importance of conservation and the need to protect the Big Five animals and their habitats. They are not only a tribute to the beauty and diversity of South African wildlife, but also a testament to the cultural importance of these animals in African history and tradition.

The coins are available in three metals : silver, gold and platinum . The mintage of 500 pieces per motif, the unit oz and the minting quality “Proof” for the gold coins have remained the same.

Additional information :

Gold coins from South Africa

Big Five – Series I – 2019 2020 2021 – 5 1oz gold coins Proof – Elephant – Lion – Rhino – Leopard – Buffalo

Our currently available “Big Five” coins from the South African Mint for you: